Who wrote the Pledge of Allegiance?

Browse → World → Government

You've probably heard the Pledge of Allegiance recited before a sports game, at a government event, or perhaps even in your own school! But have you ever given thought to who wrote these famous words, and why?

The Pledge was written in 1892 by a New York Baptist minister named Francis Bellamy in honor of the 400th anniversary of Columbus Day. Public schools all around the country were planning events for the occasion, and Mr. Bellamy wanted to have a special flag-raising ceremony and salute. President Benjamin Harrison endorsed the salute, and on October 12, 1982, over 12 million schoolchildren across the country began a tradition that continues to this day!


by   (whyzz writer)
  • Further information

    Though the Pledge has been around for over four centuries, that doesn't mean it's remained unchanged! It was originally written as the following:

    "I pledge allegiance to my Flag and the Republic for which it stands
    One nation indivisible
    With liberty and justice for all."

    Here is the current incarnation:

    "I pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America
    And to the republic for which it stands:
    One nation under God, indivisible,
    With liberty and justice for all."

    You can see the changes highlighted in bold “” the first was added in 1924 as a way to include the many immigrants who had come to the U.S. at the beginning of the century (and prevent confusion as to which flag they were pledging to!), and the second was added in 1954 by President Eisenhower, who said, "...in this way we are reaffirming the transcendence of religious faith in America's heritage and future; in this way we shall constantly strengthen those spiritual weapons which forever will be our country's most powerful resource in peace and war."

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask the Community          Ask friends & family